What now?

As so often happens just after I’ve published a novel, I am in limbo at the moment – I may already have described this feeling in a previous post here, so I won’t go into detail. The main thing is that I am between novels, and so dangerously open to new ideas about what to do next. Perhaps fortunately (perhaps not) some of the ‘between’ feeling has been submerged on this occasion by my involvement in local events, although of course this in turn has made me wish I were back immersed in a first draft again. For instance, I completely wore myself out live-tweeting an event the other night. I don’t even know if my tweets were making any sense towards the end, but I kept grimly on and even made a ‘storify’ out of them the next day in case anyone was unlucky enough to have missed them at the time. It’s one of these things that should really make you groan and ask yourself what you were thinking! But I’ve had so many of these occasions during my life that I don’t even have the energy to groan over them any more.

2

In case you’ve missed it, here’s the cover of my latest novel and here’s a link to it on Amazon UK: Unpredictable Events . If anyone reading this has already bought it/read it/enjoyed it then thank you and I’m very pleased if it kept you amused for a while. It’s also available on Smashwords and is winging its way to Kobo, Apple and Barnes and Noble as I write (sometimes that part takes a few days).

It’s taking me a while to work out what to do next. Also, it’s increasingly hard to fit in everything else round my writing – day job, committees, housework. Well, actually it isn’t all that hard to fit in housework round anything because I have almost stopped doing it. Another thing is that I spend my time at my day job sitting at a computer, and it has become evident that spending much of my spare time also sitting at a computer isn’t doing me any good. I think I may have to re-assess my writing set-up before starting on anything new. It might be that all I need is a better chair. I remember the days when my mother used to go on about how she couldn’t find a really comfortable chair, but it didn’t occur to me then that I might feel the same one day! I think my small bluetooth keyboard will have a part to play in this, but I’m not yet sure what that part will be.

Anyway, whatever happens I will be writing something during July, whether it’s another Pitkirtly Mystery, the next in the Quest series or the second half of an unexpected historical novel (working title ‘Brighton Heirs’) I started last summer and then abandoned when I realised a lot more research needed to go into it.

Leave a Reply

