Bright light and bright ideas

I don’t know if it’s because of the extremely bright sunlight we’ve been experiencing since the start of February – along with the extreme cold, of course – or because of the excess energy I now have, but even more writing ideas have lodged themselves in my mind since last weekend. I’ve made a good start on my novella ‘Adventure at the Palace of Varieties’, or at least I’ve written over 6,000 words – not necessarily the right ones! – and I’ve made a note of my ‘Pitkirtly IX’ brainwave, but as well as that I may now have part of the basis for the 1st World War novel (or is it a set of novellas? – that’s the question) I’ve been simultaneously planning to write and dreading. All this, and now that my NaNoWriMo novel is away being printed, I am having further doubts about whether it actually works or not, and tentatively considering the possibility of beta readers.

Bluebells

Bluebells

As usual, there is other stuff going on around here. Although I haven’t exactly plunged into housework since reducing my work hours, in fact some people probably wouldn’t even notice the amount of it I’ve done, I feel as if I am creeping towards some diminution of the domestic chaos, one small step at a time. For example, today the gas man came round and fixed the central heating – which I didn’t even notice needed fixing for some time, instead imagining I had suddenly reached the age where I was more susceptible to the cold than before. Another tiny example is that I’ve now set aside 4 separate boxes for important letters, documents etc. I’ve had one of them for a while, as it contains all my tax stuff, but now I have another one for important documents, one for letters I think I shouldn’t throw away, and one for letters I probably will throw away eventually. I really need some shelves to put the boxes on, but I must be sensible about the amount of re-organisation my brain can cope with at a time. I also need to round up the important documents and put them in the box! But somehow finding a box and sticking a label on it was always going to be the difficult part.

As you can probably tell, I will not be writing a book on how to do housework any time soon.

Leave a Reply

