A message from the middle of the storm…

It still isn’t at  all stormy here in terms of weather. In fact I am almost dazzled by the sunshine as I write this. However the storm of activity rages about me, and despite the slight abatement caused by the end of NaNoWriMo, there is still a week to go before the end of my knitting whirlwind for the craft fair and several weeks until we are free of the pantomime tempest for another year.

incomplete knitting

Incomplete knitting

I hope those of a nervous disposition haven’t been too upset by the above image of a faceless doll and an armless elf. Ideally I suppose I should have completed one before starting on the next, but that would be too simple. I also have the pieces of a penguin in my knitting bag waiting to be assembled, but I don’t want to cause any further trauma by showing these.  Instead here’s a picture of what happens when I decide to bring props home to paint. Unfortunately I wasn’t quick enough with the camera to capture  the cat after he accidentally swished his tail against something I had just painted white.

painting props

Painting props

I think the past few weeks have illustrated the perils of multi-tasking, and nowhere is this more evident than with my novel, now sitting at just over 50,000 words. I know it will need substantial editing, but to be honest I don’t know when I will be able to bring myself to look at it again. Possibly the only grim dystopian novel ever written into which the writer couldn’t resist injecting frivolity and light-hearted humour. I have a feeling dystopian humour won’t catch on as a sub-genre somehow.

 

 

2 responses to “A message from the middle of the storm…

Leave a Reply

