Clearing the decks

This is the weekend when I plan to clear the decks, which has nothing to do with my often-promised, never-to-be-achieved goal of completely decluttering the house and everything to do with the next stages of my writing plans for the year.

Two Edwardian Adventures

Book cover for Two Edwardian Adventures

I’ve had two writing projects under way for so long that I’m beginning to think they are actively resisting completion, but I don’t want them still in my head when I start my next mystery novel on the 1st of August. It’s probably a hangover from NaNoWriMo, but I don’t seem to be able to bring myself to start anything new on a date other than the 1st of a month. In the case of ‘The Coronation Quest’ the re-drafting has been so extensive that I am having to wait for a printed copy so that I can read it right through as a reader in order to make sure there aren’t too many continuity errors and plot loose ends. So in the mean-time I thought I would go ahead and publish the Edwardian novellas I’ve also been working on. As is the nature of novellas, they are shorter and more manageable than full length novels, without so much scope for the plot to get completely out of hand, so I’ve been a bit quicker to get these ready.

After asking people’s advice about novellas and finding them more or less unanimous in saying I should publish each one as a separate books, I’ve contrarily decided to put two novellas in one volume after all, under the title ‘Two Edwardian Adventures’. They are the first two in a planned series, so it makes a certain amount of sense. I hope to write the second two later in the year.

As I write this blog post, the book is somewhere in the publishing process, and I hope it will be available on Amazon some time tomorrow and on other sites in a little while.

This is also the weekend when I need to complete the props I am doing for our Fringe show. Still to do: spray-painting a tiny bit more of the famous alembic; buying a large hollow tennis ball to use as a basis for a mace which will be used in the event of something disastrous happening to the first attempt at a mace; going to the beach to collect sand, seaweed and if possible two bits of driftwood that are coincidentally the right size and shape to form a St Bridget’s cross; remembering to try and get hold of some fullers’ earth to use as dust. The show opens next Saturday, after a week of probably increasingly tortuous technical and dress rehearsals – it must be obvious how much I can’t wait to get involved in those!

Finishing with the props is another form of deck-clearing. By Friday I will be well and truly ready to embark on ‘Pitkirtly VIII’ [working title], I hope with a calm feeling of coming home and not with the panic that arises when you haven’t even thought about what to write.

Leave a Reply

