Swanning off again

Coincidentally,  now that I have to go away again for work, it turns out I will be heading for Swindon, a famous railway town of the 19th century. One of my work colleagues tells me it’s even worse than Basingstoke, but I am willing to be swayed either way by what I find there.

Early morning clouds - Finland

Early morning – approach to Helsinki from the sea

I am still basking (mentally at least) in the memory of my travels through Europe. Oddly enough, although I used to get seasick at the sight of a boat bobbing on the waves, it’s the ferry journeys I remember with most pleasure. Apparently that part of the Baltic is calmer than a mill-pond in June.

Anyway, back to reality. Last weekend I managed to do about half the things I had on my to-do list, which was half more than I thought I would do. One thing from the list I am finding amazingly enjoyable is the taking to pieces and re-assembling of my current novel. There are two reasons it is more fun than I expected. One is that my new version of the plot is a lot more convincing than the old one, in which nobody knew what was happening, including me, and the other is that re-reading the parts of the novel I don’t have to rewrite isn’t such a huge shock to the system as it might have been. I even quite like whole paragraphs. But maybe these are exactly the paragraphs I should be surgically removing and destroying. Some kinds of writing advice would suggest that, anyway. Fortunately I seem to be programmed not to listen to advice.

One thing I also enjoyed from last weekend’s task list – no, it wasn’t doing the shopping at Tesco’s – was writing the articles about historical research. Today I was so inspired by having finished them that I went to a session about historical research in the National Library. I am not sure how much I learned about historical research, but I was reminded of one useful fact, which is that it’s easier to get round to doing things – in this case the vacuuming – if you have other things planned. If the whole day stretches in front of me with the luxury of having nothing to do, then nothing is exactly what I tend to do. Using the word ‘nothing’ in the sense of ‘nothing except browsing aimlessly online, letting the cats in and out, and reading novels on my Kindle’, that is.

Leave a Reply

