Why, oh why?

So many things about life are mysteries to me. What is the universe? Why do some people like pineapple? What on earth is the point of Scottish independence? (see my other blog for more on this one)

One of my biggest mysteries concerns creativity, and it’s this. Why is it that so often either when I’ve just finished a project, or worse still when I’ve very nearly finished, my mind immediately turns to other projects and I have an almost irresistible urge to pursue them right away? Is it because I’m afraid of running out of ideas so I grab the new ones that come along before they can get away? Or is my brain anticipating the moment when I’ll complete the current novel and trying to stop me getting embroiled in something like housework, or Christmas by pushing more and more ideas under my nose? Or do I just prefer new things to old boring things?

I have a horrible suspicion that the last of these is the truth. As a child I had a whole cupboard in my room full of notebooks, and the notebooks contained half-finished, or sometimes hardly started, stories. It was a standing joke in the family that I could never finish anything. This is partly why, when I decided to take part in NaNoWriMo, I was so determined to complete it.  By then none of the family I grew up with were around any more, but I had to prove to myself I could do it.

Anyway, this seems to be the right point at which to confess I haven’t really even quite finished my NaNoWriMo novel this year. Yes, I’ve got to 50,000 words, but the last few sentences consist of a series of 3 or 4 chapter headings, each followed by a short summary of what is due to happen in the chapter.  After all that I’ve written ‘THE END’ in caps as a defiant gesture. I don’t usually do this, although I did come very close to it with my 2011 novel ‘Frozen in Crime’ which I left at the end of November with the sentence ‘They didn’t find out what really happened until much later’.

Don’t worry – if indeed you were worrying – I will definitely finish it now I’ve got this far. The only thing is that I’ve had this really excellent idea for a small series of novellas set in Edwardian times….

notebooks

Writing notebooks

Leave a Reply

