When things get back into alignment…

Somehow now that it’s November, the writing and other projects that have been milling around in my head are starting to make sense, as if the world had been removed from its axis, shaken about and then dropped back into place again. Hmm. A possible disaster movie plot?

Anyway, this isn’t quite as apocalyptic as that. All I mean is that after an uncertain spell where I felt as if I didn’t know what I was doing in any sphere of my life, I can now forge ahead on a path through the chaos. I don’t know if it’s necessarily the right path, but at least it’s a path. I realise now that it was partly caused by a last-minute panic about NaNoWriMo, for which I felt unprepared. Once I started writing, the panic just vanished as if by magic. It will probably return somewhere during week 2 which is often the worst part of the month for me.

At the same time, whether by coincidence or because I then felt more confident, it suddenly became clearer where I was going with a work project, the details of which are so mind-numbing that I won’t even mention what it’s about here, and also some of the issues around the fire disaster from a couple of weeks back started to resolve themselves, or at least I became more optimistic about the part I could play in it all.

The (long) short story entitled ‘Blackberry Crumble’ which I wrote for an anthology is published in ‘Off the KUF Volume 1’ which is due to be launched tomorrow (http://authl.it/B00GDLGTCS?d). This is rather a large ebook at over 100,000 words, and contains 30 stories by 25 authors, covering a variety of genres.

I’ve almost completed another long short story/novella which I am hoping will be part of another ‘Off the KUF’ volume in due course. The illustration to this post shows (a) how chaotic my notes were for this and also (b)that the notebook itself is of a good size to fit in my handbag, which means I no longer have an excuse for not writing things down as I think of them.

Notebook

Another notebook

Leave a Reply

