On the brink again.

I hope to be right on the brink of diving into the publishing pool again very soon now. At the moment I suppose I’m still in the changing room, so to speak, preparing for the ordeal ahead! Or maybe under the poolside showers that never work quite as well as they are supposed to.

Actually I don’t usually find it an ordeal, and in fact I’m really looking forward to hitting ‘publish’ on ‘The Four Seasons Quest’ because by some miracle I actually like this novel very much. Of course when I say ‘looking forward’ I’m conveniently skipping past the next little phase when I try to apply the changes I’ve written on post-its and stuck on many pages of the proof copy of the book. There must be around 130 post-its in there now.

Tiny cyclamens

Tiny cyclamens in the garden

After beginning to panic last week about the extent of my multi-tasking, I’ve now calmed down a little but only after a frenetic diversion involving some children’s stories I wrote ages ago.

‘The Four Seasons Quest’ is almost ready, I’ve reached 10,000 words in my novella, ‘Adventure on the Scotch Express’ and now feel the end may be in sight as I ‘only’ have to write another 5,000 words, and NaNoWriMo is a whole 4(?) weeks away so I don’t really need to think seriously about the plot for about another 3 1/2 weeks. This is of course an exaggeration, if not a downright lie, as the plot has been swirling around in my head for a few weeks already and won’t stop swirling just because I ignore it.

I’ve arranged a week’s holiday in mid-November so that is another reason for my new sense of being calm and in control. This will probably last until the end of the week in question, when I will undoubtedly realise I haven’t done nearly as much writing/housework/filling in of tax forms as I intended.

Leave a Reply

