Reporting in

This will be quite a quick report on how I’m getting on with the latest novel in my mystery series, not because I can’t wait to get back to writing it but because I ‘have’ to go out to the theatre this afternoon. When I say ‘have to’ that means I have the ticket, in fact I have 2 tickets, one for me and one for the friend I usually go with, and the friend will be expecting me to bring them along at 1.45 pm when we usually meet. Having seen a bit too much of the inside of a theatre in the past couple of weeks, sitting in the audience doesn’t exactly fill me with joy and wonder, but I mustn’t be so grumpy because I really do like going to the theatre as an innocent bystander. Unless I notice something annoying about the set or props, that is.

Anyway, I’ve now written over 13,000 words since Monday morning, killed a character off and cast several more under suspicion of murder. A long-standing central character has been exiled to some dangerous but unspecified location, and – the worst thing of all – the Queen of Scots pub, centre of social life in my little town, has closed its doors. So I am really putting my characters through a lot of anguish this time. Who knew I could be so hard-hearted?

As often happens, the plot isn’t developing quite as expected. Something that was meant to happen in chapter 4 has now been moved back to chapter 8, and a lot of characters from previous novels in the series have suddenly poked their noses in. I haven’t yet had one of these ‘escape to the cattery’ moments as I call them, referring back to a situation where two of my characters had to take refuge in a cattery while being chased by the police and others. These moments, also known as the ‘time-travelling back to Greggs’ in Kirriemuir for a doughnut’ episodes, only happen when I am completely desperate for somewhere to go with the plot. I haven’t quite got to that point yet. But it’s only a matter of time.

 

Leave a Reply

