Sitting in the eye of the storm

We haven’t actually had a storm, although there is quite a strong easterly wind blowing across Edinburgh that seems to have come straight from Siberia, if this is geographically possible: I use the word ‘storm’ as a hackneyed metaphor for the things going on in my life at the moment. Today is a brief respite from a flurry of activity in all areas. I already know I will have to jump back into the maelstrom tomorrow morning and that there won’t be another lull until next Sunday.

The work week, already busy almost beyond belief with an apparently endless succession of meetings and training sessions, came to an appropriate end yesterday as I tried to liaise with various people, some in other time zones and some apparently on a different planet. With the usual kind of evil synchronicity, a crisis developed at my theatre group and I will have more to do than expected in the next few days, while we held an AGM (related to an area of my life I don’t often mention here, mainly because I don’t want to think about it) in a sudden snowstorm earlier in the week – now so long ago I can hardly remember it at all.

Needless to say, I always find my thoughts turning to writing when everything else is at its most chaotic, so I have now worked out almost the whole first chapter of ‘The Queen of Scots Mystery’, due to be started on the 1st of April, and I’ve also had a brainwave about what one of my favourite characters, Oliver Quest, can do for a living in the future – in between solving things, that is. It’s so obvious that I’m very slightly surprised I hadn’t thought of it before. But enough of that for now – I can’t even think about it until after April, although of course telling myself not to think about it will only encourage me!

Jacques climbs up

The magpies are back in town – Jacques goes after them.

 

Leave a Reply

