Breathing-space or not?

Sometimes there’s a sort of gap in my life just after I’ve published another novel (Frozen in Crime, now out on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Frozen-in-Crime-ebook/dp/B009L9F24U/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1349509941&sr=8-3&keywords=frozen+in+crime or http://www.amazon.co.uk/Frozen-in-Crime-ebook/dp/B009L9F24U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349510003&sr=8-1).

But on this occasion I don’t think I’ve got time for a breathing-space. Two other things are vying with each other to fill the novel-shaped gap in my life. One is the historical novel I’ve been working on for so long it is very nearly a running joke, even to me. I thought it was just about ready to go, but I’ve ‘conveniently’ thought of a couple of snags that will delay it further. The other thing is that it’s almost time for NaNoWriMo again, so I am having to work on a completely new plot. Although my mind has tried to distract me by pointing out another interesting possibility for a novel in my mystery series, I’m going to stick with my plan to write something set in the 1950s which I hope will be the first in another series. Apart from anything else, I don’t want to waste the research I’ve already done.

Needless to say, all sorts of other things are vying for my attention too, such as work, housework, pantomime props, the family cats… This afternoon I’m going to the theatre – the first production of the season. I don’t really like to admit this, but doing so much amateur props work means that I have much less theatre-going stamina than I used to have. I can easily get distracted from a scene by noticing a really impressive prop or piece of the set, even if it’s in the background. And having to hang around back-stage listening to ‘Of Mice and Men’ or ‘Arsenic and Old Lace’, to name but two, somehow takes a bit of the glamour away. Well, in the case of our ‘Of Mice and Men’ production there was no glamour at all as I had to hang around with the family Labrador for most of Act 1 and then smuggle her downstairs and out to the car park very quickly in case she heard the shot that killed her (in the story) and freaked out. Hope that isn’t too much of a spoiler for anyone who hasn’t read the novel or seen the play. It’s still a really good play, by the way!

A final plug for ‘Frozen in Crime’ – it isn’t snowing here at the moment and this made me realise that people might need some help getting in the mood to read a story where everything is white and people get stranded etc. So here is a link to a Pinterest board which should make you feel a bit chilly: http://pinterest.com/sheilamcperry/frozen-in-crime/

 

Leave a Reply

