wet Saturday

It’s very wet and windy today so naturally I have planned to go for a walk in the Borders which may have to be called off (fingers crossed!). It’s also rather chilly, and I don’t think on this occasion it’s just because I’ve been writing about snow. We do get this kind of weather in June sometimes here. Somehow it isn’t quite so bad if the rain is warm, though. Still hoping for real seaside sunshine when I go to Llandudno in a couple of weeks’ time on a family errand.

Pitkirtly is still snow-bound 30,000 words into my latest mystery novel. At first I thought the snow would get a bit boring – after all we don’t have a lot of different words for it as the Eskimos are alleged to have, although I’m sure someone told me that’s an urban myth, and I think the word Eskimo is out of date anyway. But actually there are a lot of possibilities in writing about extreme cold. People behave differently and a kind of survival culture develops quite quickly. Because I don’t know enough about police procedure, I don’t usually write from the point of view of a policeman, but this time I have risked doing it because the circumstances are so different from the norm and I am guessing some procedural things have to go out the window. If I’m wrong, please don’t let me know – I need to get the first draft finished before I find out any more facts!

In other news, we are starting work on props for the Fringe show at my theatre group and I had a hectic week at work which ended with me wanting to scream and shout first thing on Friday morning for the second time in 24 hours. If it hadn’t been raining so hard I would have opened the window to scream, but I was saved from myself by the weather. It’s only a few days until my son’s graduation and only just over a week until we have to present our conference paper. I’m now looking ahead to my return from Llandudno at the end of the month as the light at the end of the tunnel.

Rowan tree in rain

Rowan tree in the rain

Leave a Reply

