it can’t be the end of the week already

Yes, it’s the end of the week of chilling out. I go back to work on Monday, but with only one ambition left to fulfil there: to reduce my hours so that I can chill out more often. It could take a little while as I have so much to do, but I’m convinced that feeling exhausted every weekend is no way to live.

I must admit it took me a few days to get into the spirit of relaxing, and it wasn’t until yesterday (Friday) when I spent the entire day refreshing Twitter to see the latest news in the local election results, that I knew I had done it.  Not being a member of a political party, and having voted for candidates from 3 different parties on Thursday (because I could), the local election results didn’t actually mean all that much to me so it was more of a theoretical exercise than something that fully engaged me.

Even then the puritanical work ethic hadn’t entirely lost its grip on me, so I found myself typing up a short story I’d written in a notebook, just for something to do in between results coming in. During the week I’ve actually written two short stories which I hope will be published later in anthologies. Because my netbook isn’t re-charging at the moment I’ve had to resort to carrying a notebook around with me in case there’s a writing opportunity. Sure enough I had to waste quite a bit of time at the youth centre open day last week sitting waiting for people to come and use my craft table, so I just got out the notebook I had hidden in a bag of craft stuff and wrote a thousand or so words of the first story.

I found this very pleasing for two reasons. First, of course, I had actually started work on the story I’d been meaning to do for a while – and actually once I’d made a start I found I had to finish it and even write the next story too, which was an unexpected bonus. Second, I can now justify building up my rather impressive collection of notebooks even more….

Notebooks

A selection from my notebook collection

Leave a Reply

