nothing but blue skies

Not only do we  have blue skies here at the weekend for once, but it has coincided with my decision to take a few days off work! The only minor problem with this is that I now feel guilty about not being out in the garden lopping bits off trees as well as feeling guilty about not spring-cleaning the entire house from top to bottom. I’ve done everything I’m going to in the house today by taking an old mattress to the recycling site, and cleaning out the cat litter. These things on their own will vastly improve the quality of life in the house.

Camp NaNoWriMo winner's badge

Today I got to the end of my Camp NaNoWriMo novel, working title ‘Murder in the Midi’. I must admit it was the hardest NaNo since I foolishly decided to write something historical a few years ago. I can already see that if it is going to become at all publishable I will need to do a lot more research about topics as varied as French police procedure, the mechanics of people trafficking, whether there’s a stationery shop in Beziers and how many boats can go up the Ecluses de Fonserannes at the same time.

 It was fun to write in places, and a gruelling slog in others – I think I made things just too hard for the heroine in my effort to keep the plot going. But maybe I will look back on it in a year or so and marvel at the sustained suspense and background detail of it all.

Leave a Reply

